A guy in the metro

Loaded heavily with books
and stationery
the bag i carried on my shoulders
not a seat in the metro
absurd and spiteful remarks
a guy said to another: hold her.
There was this guy sitting
working on his laptop
and he seemed to notice
the lewd comments in the backdrop.
He packed his bag and got up
I thought his station had come
and I finally sat down
removing the too heavy bag from shoulders.
After two stations had passed
did I notice
the man who gave up the seat
still standing.
So he gave up the seat out of choice
it wasn’t about our screwed concept of empowerment
a little act of sensibility
by this kind gentleman.
He didn’t lend it as a favor
nor did I ask
but his decency
won my heart.

Leave a Reply

